Optimism vs. Pessimism and Perhaps the Mid-Ground Point of Realism

024Per my continuing attempts to better my blog in the hopes of garnering acknowledgement and accommodation (fame and fortune seem too highfalutin a goal set) I queried the weekly community pool on the quality of my last post. Blogger Sing Better English wrote me an uncharacteristically good critique.  She suggested that my last post was too dark, that its end trailed off into unsubstantial bleakness.  Even without rereading it, I can’t disagree.

This caused me to think about my internet writing, the non-fiction stuff I do here.  What is my goal, what are my points?  Is what I espouse worth the written record?  Even if it is, do people enjoy reading it?

Like many with chronic depression I have trouble seeing my own moroseness, often counting bleak views as as the only ones.  While it may seem real to me or others of a similar mindset, it isn’t the only truth of a psychologically inert reality. That is to say, life is what one makes it, the universe is neither inherently good nor bad. (Hmm, sounds familiar…)

026Sing suggested that I display my own attempts at fighting the good fight of environmental protection. Considering my last post was all about the want of such action, for me to have skipped the efforts I’ve already undertaken was rather short-sighted.

But now, the darker view of things returns.  I don’t feel as though I’ve honestly done anything worth writing about.  Never mind the publications.  Nothing I’ve come up with horticulturally seems new, what I’ve achieved so far, falls far short of my goals, those of living entirely independently external systems such that my existence improves the world, even makes up for some of the less thoughtful folks.   I only grow some, not all of my own vegetables.  What can I say that hasn’t been said elsewhere, said before I even began my environmental pursuits?

Giving in to that line of thinking, however, seems a good deal like acquiescence.

Perhaps something I write, while not new, might be new to a someone.  Some suggestion I have might inspire others. 

027

  • I’m not yet free of the grid, but I have switched to wind credits.
  • I compost nearly everything I throw out.
  • I avoid plastic bottles and carry my own sports bottle around so as to reduce the need to use disposable containers.
  • I do most of my laundry after six, when the strain on the power grid is lesser.
  • I plant plants, because every organism scrubbing the atmosphere helps.
  • I walk or bicycle whenever possible, the best kind of fluorocarbons being those not released.
  • I don’t buy what I don’t need and I don’t throw anything away until its lost all usefulness, reduce being the first of the three Rs.

Maybe best, I understand that environmentalism is a gradient, a pursuit, not a yes or no.  One should be happy with himself for recycling, not lament that he broke down and got take out with plastic carry containers.  So long as one works toward improving his environment by lessening the damage he causes, he’s doing all anyone should ask and he should be content.  If I can convince anyone who reads my blog of this, than it was a success, and if I expect others to be content with their actions I aught to serve as an example.

041

No more moping. Now it’s time to plant.

